Webster 2021


This approach is new for our competition, forced upon us to protect our competitors and the Webster staff in these times of COVID-19.  Your Webster Team is working hard to provide an interesting and challenging competition as we continue our annual search for Canada’s Top General Aviation Pilot.

Although different from past years, the 2021 national finals will continue to feature flight tests, exams, interviews … all conducted virtually.  Yep, that’s right … even virtual flight tests!  It’ll be fun!

For further information about the 2021 Webster Memorial Trophy Competition, read on:


The Webster Trophy was designed by the famous Canadian sculptor Robert Tait MacKenzie (1867-1938). It is a beautiful bronze figure of the Greek god Icarus, which symbolizes youth and flight.The trophy is on display at the Canada Aviation and Space Museum.

The annual Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is committed to identifying “Canada’s Top General Aviation Pilot”. It has operated since its inception in 1932, interrupted only three times (first by World War II, again in 1954 due to costs, and most recently in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic).

The competition is named after John Webster Jr., a civilian pilot who participated in the 1931 Trans-Canada Air Pageant. In July 1931, John flew his Curtiss-Reid Rambler representing Canada in the King’s Cup Air Race in England. A month later, while in St. Hubert, Québec practising for an aerobatic competition as part of the pageant, John Webster was involved in a fatal aircraft accident. The following year, John’s father (Dr. John C. Webster, of Shediac, New Brunswick) established the John C. Webster Memorial Trophy Competition to perpetuate his son’s memory.

See our history section for more details, past finalists and winners, and media from the competition.

 Who can Apply?

The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is open to any Canadian citizen, Permanent Resident of Canada, or British Subject holding a valid Canadian Pilot Permit Recreational, Private Pilot Licence or Commercial Pilot Licence in the aeroplane category.

Individuals NOT eligible to enter the competition are those who have:

• used their pilot licence for hire or reward during the five years prior to the month in which the Webster Competition National Finals are held;
• received or are receiving pilot training given by any nation’s military; or
• previously been declared the winner of the Webster Trophy Competition.

The 2021 Webster Competition

Throughout the various stages of the Webster Trophy Competition, applicants are assessed on the fundamental skills that are expected of the holder of a Private Pilot Licence. The annual Webster Trophy Competition is committed to identifying “Canada’s Top General Aviation Pilot”.

The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event, sponsored by numerous aviation companies and organizations. See our supporter pages.

Pilots aspiring to a career in aviation can be proud to affirm that they have competed in one of Canada’s most prestigious aviation events.

This year, the competition is split into two phases: preliminary and nationals.

The Preliminary Competition

Applicants in the preliminary competition must:

  1. submit an application form and fee.
    • When completing the application form, applicants will be able to indicate whether they belong to one of our 4 affiliated national general aviation organizations.
  2. submit the results of a recent qualifying flight test, and
  3. complete an online assessment of knowledge of air traffic procedures and aerodrome operating procedures.

The Qualifying Flight Test:

2021 applicants have two options with respect to the regional flight test:

  • Submit the report of a licensing flight test for either a Private Pilot Licence or Commercial Pilot Licence, completed between 16 June 2019 and 15 June 2021, or
  • Arrange with any Pilot Examiner authorized by Transport Canada to conduct Private or Commercial Pilot flight tests for aeroplanes to conduct either:
    • a Private or Commercial Pilot flight test, or
    • a flight test using the Webster flight test report form.
      • Applicants choosing the option of a Webster flight test will need to contact the Webster Administrator (administrator@webstertrophy.ca) for a copy of the Webster flight test report form.

Applicants must submit the report of one or the other of the flight tests described above. Multiple flight test reports will not be accepted.

To verify the results and avoid situations in which a flight test report may have been altered or is otherwise unreadable, applicants must provide written permission for the Webster Administrator or representative to contact either the Pilot Examiner (in the case of applicants submitting a Webster Flight Test) or Transport Canada (in the case of applicants submitting a Transport Canada licensing flight test) and receive a copy of the original flight test report directly.

The Preliminary Examination:

NAV CANADA has created an examination covering topics relating to pilot- controller interaction such as: airport operations, communications and airspace. The examination is administered on-line. Applicants will be notified early in the calendar year about procedures for completing the examination.

The applicant receiving the top weighted mark on this examination will receive the NAV CANADA Trophy, whether or not this applicant becomes a national finalist.

Selecting the National Finalists:

Four finalists (one from each organization) will be selected from applicants who are members of the four affiliated national general aviation organizations:

  • Canadian Ninety-Nines,
  • Canadian Owners and Pilots Association,
  • Recreational Aircraft Association; and
  • Experimental Aircraft Association

Three finalists (one from each region) will be chosen from applicants who completed a flight test in the 3 Webster Regions.  Applicants are assigned to a region based where they completed their flight tests.

2021 Webster Regions:

Region Includes
West Canada British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan,

Manitoba, Yukon, Northwest Territories and


Central Canada Ontario
East Canada Quebec, New Brunswick, PEI, Nova Scotia,

Newfoundland and Labrador


All 7 finalists will be chosen based on combined and weighted scores from the flight test assessing pilot skills and the online assessment of knowledge of air traffic procedures and aerodrome operating procedures.


The 7 National finalists will complete two flight tests both in a Redbird simulator, write an examination, and undergo a virtual interview with Webster judges. The finalist with the highest blended score on these assessments is named the overall winner; the finalist with the second highest blended score is named the overall runner-up.

The simulator flight test are assessed on a basis of:

  • Precision aircraft handling
  • Normal, abnormal and emergency procedures
  • General operational knowledge
  • Overall airmanship
  • Pilot decision making, situational awareness and overall threat awareness and management

The written examination includes:

  • Meteorology
  • Air Law
  • Aircraft operations
  • Human Factors and Pilot Decision Making
  • Theory of Flight
  • Aero engines and airframes
  • General pilot knowledge and airmanship

The interview includes:

  • General Pilot Knowledge
  • Knowledge of issues facing General Aviation
  • Knowledge of issues facing professional pilots
Webster medal